CONNECT: Sharing Our Thanksgiving

-submitted by Travis Flora

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! Psalm 107:1

The American holiday for giving thanks is upon us. And I, for one, think that’s pretty cool. Despite all the bickering over just about any and every topic, our nation still sets aside one day each year to give thanks to the One who provides all blessings and goodness.

Sure the holiday has changed a little over the years. To some people, Thanksgiving is nothing more than a speedbump on the way to Black Friday sales and special deals. That’s too bad. I like a good deal as much as anyone, but let’s not lose sight of what is really important.

It’s about God. And His goodness. And the love He has shown us. It can be physical blessings, which is what we most often focus on. But it is also the Spiritual blessings he has shown to those of us who are in Christ.

There are lots of Bible verses that talk about Thanksgiving. I started this blog with one. I’ve seen several other verses posted by friends on Facebook. That’s great. Spread that word every way we can, including Social Media!

To end today’s ramblings, I’d like to do something a little different. I’m going to list a few of the things I’m thankful for this year. I’m going to pray my thanks for them, and I’d like you to do the same. List a few things you are faithful for. You can list them in the Comments section at the bottom of this page, or on the Holly Hill CoC Facebook page. But don’t just pray for your own blessings, pray for those listed by others. Let’s focus and share in the goodness God has provided to all of us, our friends and family in Christ. This is a great way for us to CONNECT with each other.

Here’s a start on my list:

 My wife, for making me a better man.

My kids for their love, optimism and faith that I can do anything.

My friends, old and new, for picking me up when I’m down, and letting me do the same for them.

My mother-in-law and grandmother, both of whom passed away this year but live on through their love and the lessons they taught me.

My employer, because lots of people don’t have a job, and my kids like to eat and have a roof over their heads.

My church family. You are much more than just friends, you truly are family and have been such a blessing to Mary Sue, Cassie, Evan and me. I thank God for each of you for showing me a better way to live and serve God.

And finally (and above all), I’m thankful to God for making it all possible and being there with me when I need him, and even when I think I don’t.

I look forward to hearing what you’re thankful for and sharing in your blessings.

Leave a Reply

